13 Reasons Why (No Spoilers)

Hello loves! Today’s post is a little different, but I felt the need to write my thoughts down because they are overwhelming me.

As you can tell by the title, we are talking about this phenomenal Netflix tv series, ’13 Reasons Why’.

Basically, it’s the story of a seventeen year old girl, Hannah Baker, who committed suicide and leaves behind her, 13 tapes. Each tape explains the reason why she took the decision to end her life.

I’ve heard about this book by Jay Asher a few years ago and I wanted to buy it ever since but somehow I never bought it, always something else would come up. This year when Selena Gomez announced that it was going to be 13 episodes show on Netfilx, I got so excited but at the same time I wanted to read the book before watching it, but again, didn’t make it…weird, I know!

When the show was finally released, I promised myself I wouldn’t watch it until I’ve read the book, but guess what…I did! I couldn’t help myself, it was everywhere, everyone was talking about it on social media, in real life…I had to watch it before anyone spoiled it for me. Best decision ever.

I’m going to start talking about the actors first. Can we just take a moment and appreciate how good their acting was? They are all so young, not much experience as I can tell (don’t quote me on this, I just didn’t know them before), but they killed their roles. They got so into it, they felt every emotion they should feel and they somehow spread it to the viewers. Everything was so real and vivid.

Now let’s talk about the show itself. I knew the book had a strong message, but seriously, I never thought it would be like this. Things happened, that I can’t really mention in case of spoilling, that I couldn’t stop thinking about. While watching one of the episodes, I remember thinking ‘This is so stupid, how can this be a reason for someone to commit suicide?’ and then, sh*t happened. And I hated myself. I was so pissed off at myself for thinking that way… and at that moment, I finally got the message of the whole show/book. Even the smallest and stupidest things, can change someone’s life. Every little thing led to another to another to another, and this was her life. It changed her. Everything that happened made her feel nothing at all. People can’t understand what you go through in your everyday life, they won’t unless they go through the things you did. People are mean, they talk, they make someone’s else life living hell in order to fill their own void inside of them. It’s no secret, everyone has their own problems, but the issue here is how you deal with them.

All in all, what I got from this? Be nice to each other. Everyone is dealing with things others can’t understand but this does not mean we should take it out on each other in every way possible. Speak up, give a hand for someone to hold. A simple and kind act can change everything. There’s no reason for all this hatred. Deep down what people need is love and love is what it should be given.

I highly recommend watching the series, if you haven’t already. It will change you, it will mess you up, it will make you see things in a different way, it will piss you off, it will help you.

Feel free to start a discussion in the comments section, but please no spoilers 🙂

Love you!

-Styliana xxx

*Not my photo

Follow me on Instagram

13 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why (No Spoilers)”

  1. A very powerful message…..We can relate with this.Since,there’s up’s and down’s in life… we must be able to pave the right path for us and balance them.Well,you wrote well and an exagerrated review.Thanks!☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a well written review! I haven’t watched 13 Reasons Why, I’ve also heard this book years ago and like you, I didn’t manage to buy and read it! I hope to watch the series soon because as everyone says, it has a powerful message.

    Anyway, I have nominated you to do The Blue Sky Tag. Please don’t feel forced to do the tag right away! ❤ Here’s the link:

    https://jirahmerizz.wordpress.com/2017/04/14/the-blue-sky-tag-x2/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

