Saying goodbye to 2016

“It’s time to say goodbye, but I think goodbyes are sad and I’d much rather say hello. Hello to a new adventure.” – Ernie Harwell


2016 went by so fast, wrecked all of our hearts. We laughed, we cried, we loved, we lived one more year. But it’s that time again, time to say goodbye. Goodbye to all the nonsense, goodbye to all the heartbreaks, goodbye to all the mistakes and goodbye to the lost.

2016 you have been terrible to me, but you taught me enough. I am grateful though because without you, I would have never learned how great it feels to get up every time you fell down. Because without you I would have never learned, loved or let go.

I have lost myself this year, I didn’t know who I was, neither who I wanted to be. I didn’t know what I actually liked or what I wanted to do in my life, but something inside of me kept pushing. It kept pushing me out of the dark tunnel I was stuck in and showed me the light. I realized what I like and what I want to do, and that’s why I started this blog. It was the best decision I made in a long time.

This time, I will not wish for a better year, I will not pretend that there’s ever going to be a year full of happiness and joy. These wishes do not exist. What I will wish from 2017 is for more strength and patience. Strength and patience to overcome any difficulties I know I will find on my way.

I am not keen on the New Years and parties and resolutions. No, because someone once told me ‘’time does not exist’’. I want to take my life as a long-term or short-term journey. All I ever want to do is make the most out of this journey without putting conditions and time limits to it. I want the good and the bad things that come along with it. I want to set myself free and fly away from the darkness that surrounds our world. I want the chance to explore new places, meet new people and new cultures. I have the strong desire to live.

Now I am referring to you. Yes, you, the one who reads this.

I want you to have everything you want in life.

I want you to keep dancing in the rain.

I want you to love and be loved.

I want you to make extraordinary things.

I want you to follow your heart.

And to all the people who will try to bring you down, do not let them. Learn to love and appreciate yourself. You are enough and you are worth it.

So here’s to the new experiences, to the new people we will meet and to the people we will lose. Here’s to us!

15841759_753640144799713_2033832069_n

13 thoughts on “Saying goodbye to 2016”

  1. What a beautiful post. Thanks so much for sharing! I think a lot of people went through similar experiences in 2016 (myself included) so your words were definitely something we all needed to hear. May 2017 bring you all the strength and patience you need for the next leg of your journey!

    So happy to have discovered your blog through Bern’s Bakes link party. I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome and very well done! To you and the 2017 you’re embarking on. We need to take courage in each day and every experience and not dwell on the past. Looking forward to each day, each experience, good or bad which will cross my path in the year to come. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

