How to deal with anxiety & stress

“Our anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, but only empties today of its strengths.”― Charles Haddon Spurgeon


 

Make yourself a cup of coffee or tea and get ready, because today we are talking about dealing with anxiety and stress.

December came around and it is no secret that is my favorite month of the year but it is also the most stressful month because of the final exams.

When I was in High School , I intended to get a lot of stressed and anxious around finals but now I believe, I can control it better than before. I used to find it really hard to concentrate and my mood swings took the best of me. I used to get mad at the people around me-friends and family-because I was not able to cope with my anxiety. As soon as you realize the problem and accept it, then you began to control it somehow.

First of all, when I come to the point where everything just seems and feels too much for me, I immediately take a step back. I let myself breathe in and out, slowly. I think but not too much. I try to see where I am and where I need to be. And most importantly, I give credit to myself for what I’ve already achieved.

Secondly, I love to go for a walk. There’s a park nearby to where I live, with a pond and I always enjoy my long walks till I get there. It’s so peaceful and the fresh air always awakens my senses and mind. It reminds me of the beauty there still is around us and how small my problems actually are.

 

Another favorite thing I like to do, is to drink tea or hot chocolate while I read a book. I’m a sucker for good romance/drama or good poems. I love the fact that by reading books my mind gets to travel to all these new places at all these different times. I like the way I sometimes can relate to the characters and I like the way I find solutions to my own problems. I like the way that reading gives me comfort and I like the way I learn new things.

15319341_731464590350602_1905106813_n
please don’t mind my Disney cup haha

Lastly, listening to relaxing sounds or favorite artists can also do the trick. Whenever I am feeling upset or stressed, listening to the forest sounds makes everything better. I also love to listen to the piano and my favorite pianist is definitely Yiruma.

There a lot of people, like me, who like keeping it all to themselves, thinking that they will make it all on their own, and that can cause a lot of stress. Sometimes, though, when it is all too much, it’s good to ask for help. Asking for help does not make you weak.

All of the above, are my ways of dealing with anxiety and stress. Some people have different tips and techniques that they use, like eating healthier, doing exercises or going to bed early. Some people deal better when they go out with friends. I personally do better when I do things by myself and being on my own, having some ‘me’ time. Just remember to focus on your purpose and do not feel the need to impress or satisfy anyone but yourself.

But if you feel you have an Anxiety Disorder, please ask for a professional help.

 

 

6 thoughts on “How to deal with anxiety & stress”

  1. Love your blog. I too have had many experiences with high anxiety and stress. Talked to my doctor and now have some medication to help thru the bad times. If you could check out my blog I would appreciate it. I want to spread the word about ALS. My husband was diagnosed in 2015. The more people know about this horrific disease, the more attention maybe will be paid to finding a cure or even a better way to diagnose it. Thank you in advance. https://campingboatingshawnlee.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/reblogmorrie/

    Like

  2. After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is
    added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment. Is there a means
    you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

